EISA regulation requirements for hazardous location motors

PdMA Corporation

Beginning in December 2010, the new Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA) government regulations will change motor manufacturers requirements to meet NEMA Premium standards for NEMA and IEC frame sizes on motors less than 600 volts. PdMA has been discussing this new regulation in a five-part series of tips highlighting some of the issues that may impact you. Here is Part 4 of the series. 

Hazardous Location Motors
Although manufacturers were given a two-year extension for compliance in the original EPAct regulation, the EISA regulation requires all hazardous location motors to move to NEMA Premium standards in December 2010.

To view the EISA, go to: http://frwebgate.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/getdoc.cgi?dbname=110_cong_bills&docid=f:h6enr.txt.pdf

For a NEMA summary, go to: http://www.nema.org/gov/energy/Energy-Legislation.cfm

For additional information, visit www.pdma.com.

Subscribe to Reliable Plant