PdMA lists electric motors not covered by EISA regulation

PdMA Corporation

Beginning in December 2010 the new Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA) government regulations will change motor manufacturers requirements to meet NEMA Premium standards for NEMA and IEC frame sizes on motors less than 600 volts. PdMA Corporation will be discussing this new regulation in a five-part series of tips highlighting some of the issues that may impact you. Here is Part 3 of this series.

Motors not covered by the EISA regulation:

  • Submersible motors
  • Intermittent duty
  • Adjustable speed with optimized windings
  • High-slip Design D
  • Multi-speed motors
  • DC motors
  • Single phase motors
  • Two digit frames (48-56)
  • Medium-voltage motors
  • Definite and special purpose motors not used as general purpose
  • Motors that are integral with a gear or brake
  • Repair standards or repaired efficiency levels

To view the EISA, go to: http://frwebgate.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/getdoc.cgi?dbname=110_cong_bills&docid=f:h6enr.txt.pdf

For a NEMA summary, go to: http://www.nema.org/gov/energy/Energy-Legislation.cfm

To learn more about PdMA products and services, visit www.pdma.com.

Subscribe to Reliable Plant