Motor categories that must meet NEMA Premium standards

PdMA Corporation

Beginning in December 2010 the new Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA) government regulations will change motor manufacturers requirements to meet NEMA Premium standards for NEMA and IEC frame sizes on motors less than 600 volts. We will be discussing this new regulation in a five-part series of tips highlighting some of the issues that may impact you. Here is Part 2.

The following motor categories must meet NEMA Premium:

  • 1 to 200 horsepower general purpose
  • Polyphase design A & B to 600VAC
  • TEFC, ODP, explosion proof
  • Brake motors
  • NEMA 140T frames to 449
  • Foot mounted
  • C-face foot mounted
  • Severe duty, washdown, etc.
  • IEC Metric 90 frames and larger

To view the EISA, go to:

For a NEMA summary, go to:

For more information on PdMA Corporation products and services, visit

Subscribe to Reliable Plant