EISA: What does this mean for your electric motors strategy?

PdMA Corporation

Beginning in December 2010, the new Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA) government regulations will change motor manufacturers requirements to meet NEMA Premium standards for NEMA and IEC frame sizes on motors less than 600 volts. We will be discussing this new regulation in a five-part series of tips highlighting some of the issues that may impact you. This article is Part 1 in the series.

The following motor categories, not previously required to meet the EPAct efficiency levels, are now required:

  • 8-pole motors
  • Close-coupled pump motors
  • Design C
  • U-frame motors
  • 3-ph motors of not more than 600 volts (other than 230v or 460v) including IEC frame motors from 90 frame and up
  • C-face or D-flange without base
  • 201 to 500 HP motors not previously covered by EPAct will be required to comply with Energy Efficient efficiencies as defined by NEMA MG 1, Table 12-11
  • Vertical solid shaft normal thrust motors (P-base) (as tested in a horizontal configuration)

To view the EISA, go to: http://frwebgate.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/getdoc.cgi?dbname=110_cong_bills&docid=f:h6enr.txt.pdf

For a NEMA summary, go to: http://www.nema.org/gov/energy/Energy-Legislation.cfm

For more information on PdMA Corporation, visit www.pdma.com.

Subscribe to Reliable Plant