Raytheon wins Worker Safety Excellence Award

RP news wires

Raytheon recently received the Aerospace Industries Association’s (AIA) 2010 Worker Safety Excellence Award in the Aerospace Components category. Raytheon chairman and CEO William H. Swanson accepted the award November 18 at the AIA Board of Governors meeting in Phoenix. The award was presented by AIA president and CEO Marion Blakey. This is the seventh time in five years Raytheon has won a Safety Excellence Award from the association.

“I want to congratulate not only our deserving winners, but all AIA members that participated in this program,” said Blakey. “The 2010 results confirm that aerospace and defense companies are fully committed to a safe and healthy working environment for our workers.”

Selection Criteria
Winners were selected based on their injury rates in 2009 and the strength of their safety programs. The Aerospace Components award category covers four of Raytheon’s businesses: Integrated Defense Systems (IDS), Intelligence and Information Systems (IIS), Network Centric Systems (NCS) and Space and Airborne Systems (SAS). The combined Occupational Safety and Health Administration’s (OSHA) recordable injury rate for these four businesses was 0.62 per 100 employees, and the lost workday injury rate was 0.17. 

About Raytheon’s Safety Program
Raytheon’s safety program contains key elements for success, including management commitment, hazard assessment and employee involvement. The company has a strong program to proactively assess potential workplace hazards so they are eliminated or controlled. All injuries are investigated and root causes identified. Raytheon has strengthened its safety program by pursuing OSHA’s Voluntary Protection Program “Star” certification at its major locations. The prestigious safety certification requires sites to implement a rigorous safety management system that goes above and beyond regulatory requirements. Sixteen Raytheon facilities have achieved such certification to date. Only 2,440 worksites out of over 9 million in the U.S. have achieved the OSHA safety certification.

Other Award Winners
Other companies that received AIA safety awards were United Technologies Corporation’s Sikorsky Aircraft in the Aircraft Manufacturing category and Honeywell Aerospace in the Most Improved Safety category. 

Subscribe to Machinery Lubrication

About the Author